Home > Clojure, Uncategorized > Clojure environment state of the union, install speedrun screencast

Clojure environment state of the union, install speedrun screencast

I’ve been speaking to a colleague about simplifying my workstation setup, minimizing the number of OS instance configurations floating around in my head. I have multiple computers at home and at work, and I need to be able to minimize the time it takes to be productive from point-zero. I thought this would be a great time to try and make a speedrun of getting up and running with a clojure environment, starting with a freshly downloaded ubuntu ISO image and using it as a VM.

All-in-all, it takes 24 minutes, about 8 minutes is waiting for stuff to download. I could practice and get it down to ~15, but this should be a good order-of-magnitude estimate of what it takes. Minutes 16-24 are hassling with emacs, elpa, auto-complete, and order-of-installation issues.

This also serves as a demonstration of what can go wrong when even a full-time clojure developer has to recreate a working environment, and what kind of knowledge of workarounds may be needed. I had some problems with emacs that I can’t explain, I just found a workaround through trial-and-error and my minimal experience :-). Having remembered what it was like to not know these secrets, I know that this hassle can expand into days of digging.

As a community, we should aim to minimize this sort of hassle for beginners. I know there have been ill-fated efforts to do so, with out-of-date documentation and half-usable but well intended tools, and I don’t have an answer for that, but here’s a data point.

Categories: Clojure, Uncategorized Tags:
  1. December 19, 2012 at 10:37 am | #1

    Thanks for posting the vid. I learned at least three new things watching that :-) Now I have ac-nrepl working – very nice addition to the Clojure emacs environment.

    Also, you said you don’t like Ubuntu all that much. If it’s Unity you don’t like, but otherwise like the Ubuntu ecosystem, I highly recommend trying Xubuntu. I switched last year and never looked back.

    • gtrak
      December 19, 2012 at 2:56 pm | #2

      For daily use, I use kubuntu. My favorite distro is archlinux, but it’s not practical for me to keep multiple arch systems running at the same time, due to the high amount of manual config, as mentioned.

  2. December 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm | #3

    Gary, at 13:40 you do a ‘lein new test’, but where did leiningen come from (considering you started everything from scratch in the VM)? I must have missed its install. Thanks!

    • gtrak
      December 19, 2012 at 6:53 pm | #4

      I downloaded it and shoved it in ~/bin a couple minutes prior. There’s an ubuntu package for it, but I don’t bother with it for one file that I want to manage manually. I pretty much use my home directory for any java-related stuff, as it never maps cleanly to the deb presumptions, and I never want system-wide java lib dependencies. That’s why we have maven/lein after all.

    • gtrak
      December 19, 2012 at 6:58 pm | #5

      it’s at 9:20

      • December 19, 2012 at 10:26 pm | #6

        Yes, at 9:20, and I see you installed it at 9:46. As I suspected, I missed it. : ) Thanks, again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

